Waiting Room Thoughts

So I never posted part 2 or followed up on how the reintroduction phase of the Whole 30 went, but that’ll come eventually. Things have been really busy lately as August has been finishing up school (yay graduation) and I’ve been taking required classes for getting out of the military. I didn’t have a whole lot of time to write up posts lately.  As soon as those things were finished we went out of town to the city in which August is having his top surgery.

The surgery is actually underway right now and I’m sitting in the waiting room feeling nervous and excited and everything in between. I’m so glad that I get to be here for such a big step in his transition, especially considering how much I missed while deployed. This is probably the best stage of his transition for him to have me around for as well so I can help him with stuff during his recovery. I keep finding myself worrying about whether I’ll do a good job taking care of him and making the recovery as easy and comfortable as possible for him. When I take the time to think about it, I know I’m worrying about nothing, but that doesn’t stop me from worrying anyway.

August has been waiting a long time for this. It’s really exciting to see him finally getting to do this and to see him gradually becoming more comfortable and happier as his physical appearance gets closer and closer to matching up with his internal identity. I’m a little jealous as I await my turn to start this journey, but I’m finding that while I’m anxious to begin my own transition, I don’t feel as trapped and unable to express my own identity as I used to. My turn is coming up just over the horizon and will be here before I know it. Thanks to that, more than anything else I’m simply excited for August at this time and love watching all the changes that have and are continuing to take place during his transition. It’s an amazing process to witness.

Leave a Reply

